Sent: Saturday, June 19, 2010 9:26 AM
Subject: Destroyed by Battle
Can a monster deemed destroyed by battle be targeted by a destruction/send (to the graveyard/rfg) effect? a return to hand/deck effect?
The targeting would happen sometime between the "After Damage Calculation" sub-step and the "End of the Damage Step" sub-step of the "Damage Step."
RE: Destroyed by Battle
From: US YGO Rules (email@example.com)
Sent: Tue 6/22/10 8:32 PM
For example, if a face-down Penguin Soldier is attacked, flipped up, and destroyed as a result of battle, it cannot be targeted by an effect that would return it to the hand or Deck. You could target it with an effect that would destroy it or send it to the Graveyard though.
So while this isn't a "huge" change overall, some of you may remember the old ruling that we used to have, stating that Man-Eater Bug & friends couldn't target themselves when they were flipped face-up & determined to be destroyed by battle, regardless of what their targeting effect aimed to do.
This didn't make a lot of sense to me (it actually cause a lot of confusion on my end), what with the fact that you can chain an effect like Dust Tornado (that aims to destroy, send or remove), to a previously activated card that slates itself for destruction, just not something like Phoenix Wind Wing Blast that aims to "return" that card somewhere. Again, while this isn't a "huge" change, I can think of a few situations right away that could play out differently because of it, so keep reading if you're interested.
For example, if the Turn Player controls no monsters except an Obelisk/Aurkus (something that cannot be targeted by the flipped monster's effect), and it attacks a face-down Man-Eater Bug or Snowman Eater (lets ignore the fact that 1900 def might help it survive), the controller of the flipped & destroyed monster would now be able to target that Man-Eater Bug or Snowman Eater, instead of being forced to target one of their other face-up monsters like the old bkss ruling indicated.
Also, if the attacking monster was something like a Goyo Guardian, Hydrogeddon or Firedog (that needed to destroy the other monster by battle & see it hit the Graveyard that way), and the player controlling the flipped Ryko, Man-Eater Bug or Snowman Eater didn't want to (or due to other effects & conditions wasn't able to) target the attacking monster that it had just battled with, they would now be able to target the Ryko, Man-Eater Bug or Snowman Eater, thus not allowing the Goyo Guardian, Hydrogeddon or Firedog's effect to activate at the End of the Damage Step because the monster would be destroyed by an effect at an earlier time (rather than actually sent to the Graveyard by battle).